Header Ads

TSC releases new salary scales for teachers.

Following the signing of a Collective Bargaining Agreement (CBA) between the Teachers Service Commission (TSC) and teachers’ unions in October 2016, all teachers in public schools will benefit from the newly introduced salary scales in Job Groups ‘H’, ‘J’, ‘K’, ‘L’, ‘M’ and ‘N’.

In a circular dated 18th December 2017 and addressed to all County Directors and heads of institutions, the TSC has effectively elongated T-Scale 13 in D3; T-Scale 12 in Grade D2 and T-Scale 9 in D4 backdated from July 2017. The elongated scales fall under Job Groups ‘H’ and ‘N’.

Principals and their deputies in sub-county boarding schools, day schools and extra-county schools will now earn between sh. 59,286 and sh. 83,717. Previously, the highest paid principal earned sh. 77,840.

Deputy Principals III and Senior Master I will earn between sh. 59,286 and sh. 80,242 with Senior Master IV, Deputy Principals II and Senior Lecturer IV pocketing between sh. 26.610 and sh. 46,912.

Under this new dispensation, P1 teacher, the lowest grade in the teaching service at Job Group ‘G’ has been phased out and will now be referred to as Primary Teacher II to serve in Grade B5 which is equivalent to Job Group ‘H’.

They will now earn between sh. 24,250 and 27,195 up from the previous sh. 23,304.

Teachers who were previously serving in Job Group ‘H’ (Primary Teacher I and Secondary Teacher II) have been elevated to Job Group ‘J’ to a new Grade known as C1 to earn between sh. 31,956 and sh. 33,994.

The matrix on Hardship, Commuter and Annual Leave Allowances have also revised been upwards to run between 1st July 2017 and 30th June 2021. All other allowances remain unchanged.

No comments:

Powered by Blogger.