Header Ads

Thika-born Wamdetch Kuna nominated to battle for top prize

David Waweru (left) celebrates after scoring a goal in a KPL duel last season.
Thika-born Daniel Waweru Wamdetch Kuna has made it to the list of Kenyan Premier League (KPL) Player of the Year award.

The 30-year old Ulinzi Stars player will battle it out for the Midfielder of the Year category with Zoo Kericho midfielder Michael Madoya, Lawrence Juma, Ezekiel Okare and Humphrey Mieno.

Previously referred to as the ‘King of Assists’, Waweru has scored three goals last season.

Gor Mahia striker Meddie Kagere leads the pack of player’s fighting it out for the KPL Player of the Year award ceremony that had been pushed to this year owing to a congested football schedule last season.

Kagere is favourite to be named the winner for last season and with it a prize money of Sh1 million prize.

Kagere was last month named the country’s best player by the Association of Sports Journalists of Kenya (ASJAK) ahead of team-mate George ‘Blackberry’ and Masoud Juma formerly of Kariobangi Sharks, but now with Cape Town City in South Africa.

The Rwandese forward scored 13 goals to help Gor Mahia win their 16th KPL title last season.

Posta Rangers goalkeeper Patrick Matasi is another serious contender for the award after his good performance for Rangers. Matasi also helped the national team Harambee Stars win the Council of East and Central Africa Football Association tournament in Machakos last month.

Other nominees for the Player of the Year award are Lawrence Juma of Nzoia Sugar, Michael Madoya (Zoo Kericho) and John Oyemba of Kariobangi Sharks.

There will also be a big battle in the Goalkeeper of the Year category with last year’s winner Matasi fighting it out with Oyemba.

Oyemba was named the best goalkeeper by ASJAK last month after helping his club finish third in their first year in the KPL.

Other contenders for the top goalkeeper’s award are David Juma (Kakamega Homeboyz), Mathias Kigonya (Sofapaka) and Levis Opiyo (Mathare United).

Veteran defender George Owino of Mathare United leads the list of nominees for Defender of the Year. Nick Meja (Nakumatt), Musa Mohammed (Gor Mahia), Charles Momanyi (Homeboyz) and Jockins Atudo (Rangers) are also among the nominees.

Owino popularly known as ‘Wise’ remains the favourite after an outstanding performance for Mathare United. He featured in more than 30 matches for his club.

Despite playing for the first time in the KPL, Zoo Kericho midfielder Michael Madoya has been nominated in four categories and may end up as the biggest winner.

Madoya who scored seven goals for Zoo Kericho last season has been nominated for New Player of the Year, Most Valuable, Fair Play and Midfielder of the Year awards.

No comments:

Powered by Blogger.