Header Ads

Kiambu MCAS approve Ksh 17.9 billion supplementary budget for the financial year 2019/2020.

Chairperson of the Budget and Appropriations Committee Hon. Livingstone Waiganjo

Kiambu County Assembly has approved a supplementary budget of over Ksh 17.9 Billion for the financial year 2019/2020 to cater for county projects and services with the biggest beneficiary’s being the Roads and Public Works, Water and Environment, Agriculture and Education departments as key priority areas.

The move was necessitated by an increase of Equitable Share of Revenue from the National Government by Ksh 193,700,000 making it move from Ksh 9,238, 000,000 to Ksh 9,431,700,000. Also by an increase of conditional grant by Ksh 25,764,540 from the previous Ksh 2,381,409,369 to Ksh 2,407,173,909 and an unspent balance brought forward of Ksh 1,194,751,803 from the Financial year 2018/2019.

It is a project based supplementary budget that will ensure that each Ward gets the Four (4) kilometre road and Fuel Levy roads which the Governor will launch coming Friday.

The increment of Ksh 320 million to Roads Department (Ksh 140 million on major roads and Ksh 60 million on access roads) will guarantee improved roads to beat the rainy season.

The MCAs have also allocated funds to departments which had been given zero or minimum budgets like the Youth and Sports Department, Agriculture and Water and will have 40,000 new water connections which will be a 70% realisation.

They also set aside Sh 73 million to purchase of graders and slashed Ksh 300 million meant for only one Githurai market to now benefit various wards with bodaboda sheds and markets.

The MCAs also allocated some substantial amount of money to cater for the repairs and maintenance of vehicles which have been grounded before to enable them to be put in good condition for easy service delivery at the grassroots by the officers.

The motion to approve the supplementary budget to meet the expenditure of this year was moved by the Chairperson of the Budget and Appropriations Committee Hon. Livingstone Waiganjo and seconded by Hon. Josephine Nduta Muongi.

No comments:

Powered by Blogger.