Header Ads

Wanjiku’s Wrath! Thika ‘Broom’ Sweeps All MCAs Except One.

The wave of change has swept the populous Thika Town Constituency after voters of the Jubilee Party sent home all the sitting MCAs except one during the just concluded party primaries.

Among the 5 MCAs who constitute Thika Town Constituency, only Gatuanyaga Ward Representative Cecilia Wamaitha survived the primaries in the race that saw her colleagues given a vote of no confidence.

Wamaitha won the seat after garnering 2,337 votes to beat all her competitors.
Township MCA Kennedy Mwangi (Kentams) lost to Andrew Ndirangu who had 3,635 votes against the incumbent’s 1,300 votes who was followed closely by Joseph Minyaru with 1,064 votes.

Things in the neighbouring Hospital Ward were not so different after incumbent Mwangi Wamwangi (J BEE) also suffered the same fate after a Dunson Mburu turned out victorious with 2,375 votes.

In Kamenu Ward, Raphael Chege’s with 4, 627 votes were enough to end Elizabeth Muthoni Hussein’s 25 –year tenure in office. Robert Gitonga came second with 1,674 votes with Muthoni coming a distant third with 914 votes.

Joakim Mwangi beat all storm to emerge victorious in Ngoliba Ward by garnering 2,369 votes. The incumbent Gerrishon Ngige was nowhere near the prize as he was ranked among the last in the polls with less than a hundred votes.

It all started with Kiambu Governor William Kabogo who was handed a humiliating defeat in the hands of Kabete MP Ferdinand Waititu (Baba Yao) who garnered 353,604 votes against Kabogo’s 69,916 votes.

The same axe nearly fell on the Thika Town MP Alice Wambui Ng’ang’a to Thika-based businessman Patrick Wainaina Wa jungle in their disputed duel. Alice slightly beat Wainaina by 1,149 votes after garnering 15,880 votes against Wa Jungle’s 14,731.

No comments:

Powered by Blogger.