Header Ads

Thika Decides: Mama Tano Tena.

Thika Town MP Alice Ng'ang'a celebrates her victory with supporters after being declared winner for the Jubilee Party primaries on Wednesday.
Tens of thousands of Thika residents streamed to the polls on Tuesday to bring to a close after one of the fiercest campaigns in history.

As dusk fell, there were long lines in front of polling stations in many areas, despite pundits suggesting that the region suffered some voter apathy and were not enthused to participate in the repeat Jubilee Party nominations after the botched Friday primaries.

After a grueling 24 hour exercise, Jubilee Party’s Constituency Returning Officer Ann Kamiti announced the results of the for all the seats.

It was jubilation at Thika Town hall tally centre after area MP Alice Wambui Ng’ang’a was declared winner of the Jubilee Party primaries for Thika Town parliamentary seat.

She was declared at around 11 am having polled 15,880 votes against her closest rival Patrick Wainaina Wa Jungle who garnered 14, 731 votes.

Morris Mburu came third with 3,127 votes.

Addressing her supporters after the exercise, Ms. Alice thanked the residents of Thika for endorsing her for a second term adding that her focus now would be turned towards ensuring that President Uhuru Kenyatta get re-elected for his final term.

“I am extremely humbled by the kind of confidence the people of Thika have shown me in nominating me in the Jubilee Party primaries. Now that I have cleared that hurdle, my focus is now one, to fight the opposition’s quest to derail the government’s development agenda,” said Hon. Alice.

She said that her win and that of Ferdinand Waititu as the gubernatorial candidate for Kiambu would guarantee harmony in the area, translating into development for the people of Thika and Kiambu in general.

She appealed to her competitors to shelve their quests and come together for the good of the residents of Thika.

Other results announced included a win for Andrew Ndirangu as the Township Ward MCA Jubilee candidate with 3,635, Dunson Mburu (Hospital) with 2,375 votes, Raphael Chege (Kamenu) with 4, 627 votes, Cecilia Wamaitha (Gatuanyaga) with 2,369 and Joakim Mwangi (Ngoliba) with 2,369 votes.

Ferdinand Waititu beat William Kabogo for the gubernatorial ticket with 27,739 votes and 6,070 votes respectively.

Karungo Wa Thang’wa garnered 13,773 votes to beat Paul Kimani Wamatangi (12,271) and Stephen Ndichu (3,364) for the senatorial ticket within the constituency.

In the Women Representative race, Gathoni Wa Muchomba garnered 28,720 votes, Anne Nyokabi 2,262, June Koinange 1,703 and Gladys Chania 1,357.

No comments:

Powered by Blogger.