Header Ads

9-Man Thika United Force Bandari To A 1-1 Draw

Nine-man Thika United were forced to a 1-1 draw by visiting Bandari in a Kenyan Premier League match played on Wednesday.

The Brookeside sponsored side was the first to score in the first half before Bandari made use of their numerical advantage to equalize at the stroke of 90th minute.

Bandari FC were clearly stronger side in the first few minutes of the game before the hosts woke up to show their intention thereafter. David Kinga’tua combined well with Shaban Kenga in the 10th minute in front of Thika United goal but their collective attempt missed the target by a whisker.

Eugene Mukangula then broke from the midfield three minutes later but was caught by the offside trap while approaching Wilson Oburu’s area just a minute before skipper Dennis Odhiambo came closer with a shot whose end result brought a fruitless corner-kick for the James Nandwa boys.

In the 18th minute, striker Omar Boraafya forced Hamuza Muwonge to save a goal-bound shot which bounced back to find Musa Mudde but defender Suleiman Ngotho was already alert to clear the danger.
Seven minutes later, Michael Mutinda unleashed a rasping shot which sent Oburu out of the field for treatment after making a wonderful save. Coach Nandwa was then forced to introduce Joseph Okoth from the bench to serve in the remaining minutes of the game.

In the last minute of first half’s added time, the goal-hungry Mukangula did all the work and picked out Joel Tata, who did not disappoint. The former Nairobi City Stars ace drilled in past Okoth to hand Thika United a 1-0 lead towards the breather.

Second half was more physical prompting referee to dish out six cards two of which sent packing two of Thika United players in Dennis Odhiambo and Eugene Mukangula.

Bandari FC used the opportunity to get their equalizer from Anthony Kimani in the 90th minute handing coach Ken Odhiambo a single point away from home.

Thika United
Hamza Muwonge, Suleiman Ngotho, Dennis Odhiambo,Vincent Nyamberi, Michael Luvutsi, Samuel Mwanje, Eugene Mukangula, Joel Tata, Michael Mutinda and Onwudi Chibuweze.

Eliud Emase, Wilson Anekeya, Timothy Luda, Salim Mzee, Saad Musa, Ray Omondi and Zack Matasi.

Wilson Oburu (GK) (C), Anthony Kimani, Duncan Otewa, Felly Mulumba, Andrew Waiswa, Eric Kibiru, Musa Mudde, Shaban Kenga, Darius Msagha, David King'atua, Omar Boraafya.

 Joseph Okoth (GK), Hamisi Tole, Michael Apudo, Abdallah Hassan, Farid Mohammed, Dan Sserunkuma.

Courtesy of Yahoo Sports

No comments:

Powered by Blogger.