Header Ads

Thika elects 15 representatives to the Kiambu Alcoholic Drinks Control Committee.

Residents of Township Ward queuing to vote for their representatives to the Kiambu Alcoholic Drinks Regulatory Committee.

Thika Sub-County has elected fifteen (15) representatives to sit in the Kiambu Alcoholic Drinks Regulatory Committee that will oversee the implementation of the recently enacted laws to control alcoholism and illicit brews.

In an exercise held at the Thika Stadium on Tuesday afternoon, each of the five Wards voted in three representatives to the committee.

Those elected are as follows –:

Township Ward.
John Mugendi
John Nkuruma Wanyonyi
Samuel Ng’ang’a Miring’u

Hospital Ward.
Patrick Mwangi Kamande
Anna Nyambura Mwangi
Francis Kinyua Nderitu

Kamenu Ward.
Joseph Kamau Kiberenge
Odhiambo Juma
Daniel Nduati Mwatha

Gatuanyaga Ward.
George Njihia Njenga
Alex Ndung’u Gaituru
Martin Mungai Muhindi

Ngoliba Ward.
Raphael Njuguna Musembi
Githinji Njuguna
James Mutoba Kariuki.

The committee will meet the County the Directorate of Alcoholic Drinks Control in Kiambu on Tuesday next week where they will be inducted on the Kiambu County Alcoholic Drinks Control Act.

Among other functions, this committee shall be mandated to consider applications for alcoholic drinks licensing in accordance with the Act. In carrying out its functions, the sub-county committee shall ensure that there is effective public participation in accordance with the framework for citizen participation established under the relevant written laws.

It shall publish and publicise a notice to the members of the public inviting them to apply for a license under as per the Kiambu County Alcoholic Drinks Control Act.
The exercise was supervised by Governor Ferdinand Waititu.

No comments:

Powered by Blogger.