Header Ads

Zoo sinks Thika United to relegation

Thika United’s Eugene Mukangula runs away with the ball after scoring in a previous match.
Thika United’s survival hopes of survival in top flight football suffered a major blow after soaking in two goals against host Zoo in the mid-week clash played on Wednesday.

The milkmen needed to win all their remaining encounters to keep a safe distance with 17th placed Western Stima ahead of the penultimate season-ender this coming weekend, but fell flat in a 2-1 defeat.

The hosts raced to a quick 2-0 lead heading into the break with Nicholas Kipkurui opening the scoring proceedings in the 14th minute before Dennis Otieno doubled the advantage in the 36th minute.

Thika pulled one back through Shami Kibwana in the 56th minute after utilising Eugene Mukangula’s cross into the box. However, Zoo held on to ensure the visitors' goal was just a consolation in the tricky affair.

The win sees Zoo hit the 40-point mark; a tally that cannot be achieved by both Thika United and Western Stima who are on 35 points with one game to go. Zoo’s win also affected 2008 champions Mathare United who dropped to 15th on 38 points, leaving the Slum Boys need a single point when they face Posta Rangers in their last match on Saturday to survive the axe.

Both Thika and Stima are now favorites to join the already relegated Muhoroni Youth in the National Super League (NSL) in 2018.

Thika have a tricky match on their last day with a tie against Bandari FC at the Thika Sub County Stadium and a loss here, coupled by a Stima win would see them go down.

Stima on the other hand will be up against Chemelil Sugar at the Chemelil Complex on the same day and have no option but to win or at least draw hoping that Thika United loses. A loss for Stima will end their KPL experience.

Zoo Kericho starting XI : Vincent Misikhu, Johnston Ligare, Gideon Kibet, Dominic Ouma, Isaac Kipyegon, Dennis Otieno, Geoffrey Gichana, Michael Madoya, Danson Namasakha, Nicholas Kipkirui and Bernard Odhiambo.

Subs : Samuel Koko, Stanislaus Akiya, Hillary Minishi, Kepha Ondati, Dennis Omondi, Ernest Kipkoech and Selenga Mangili.

Thika United starting XI : Owiny Allan, Wilson Anekeya, Zak Matasi, Ngotho Suleiman, Oruchum Christopher, Odhiambo Dennis, Tsuma Said, Mutinda Michael, Mukangula Eugene, Peter Okoth and Shami Kibwana.

Subs : Eliud Emase, Baraka Badi, Onwudi Chibueze, Said Saad, Edmond Adem, Samuel Mwanje and Sammy Meja. 

No comments:

Powered by Blogger.